First Look at Bavarian State Opera’s New Parsifal, Starring Jonas Kaufmann

Classic Arts News   First Look at Bavarian State Opera’s New Parsifal, Starring Jonas Kaufmann
 
The production, directed by Pierre Audi, runs through July 31.
Parsifal_Bayerische_Staatsoper_Nina_Stemme_Jonas_Kaufmann_2018_HR.jpg
Nina Stemme and Jonas Kaufmann Ruth Walz

A new staging of Richard Wagner’s Parsifal, starring Jonas Kaufmann, opened at the Bavarian State Opera June 28. The production, directed by Pierre Audi, continues performances in Munich through July 31.

Kaufmann stars in the title role opposite René Pape as Klingsor, Christian Gerhaher as Amfortas, Wolfgang Koch as Klingsor, and Nina Stemme as Kundry. Kirill Petrenko conducts.

The production will be live-streamed on Staatsoper.TV July 8 at 5pm CEST (11am ET) . It will also be available to watch on demand for 24 hours beginning July 9 at 12pm CEST (6am ET).

Flip through photos of the production below:


For more on the production, visit staatsoper.de.


Recommended Reading:
 X

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!