Mallory Bechtel Will Succeed Laura Dreyfuss in Broadway’s Dear Evan Hansen

Broadway News   Mallory Bechtel Will Succeed Laura Dreyfuss in Broadway’s Dear Evan Hansen
The Tony-winning musical continues at the Music Box Theatre.
Mallory Bechtel
Mallory Bechtel

Mallory Bechtel will make her Broadway debut in the Tony-winning Best Musical Dear Evan Hansen at the Music Box Theatre beginning July 31.

Bechtel will step into the role of Zoe Murphy, succeeding Laura Dreyfuss, who will play her final performance July 15. Olivia Puckett will play the role from July 17 to July 29.

Houston-based Bechtel is a 2018 high school graduate; she will relocate to New York to continue her studies. She can be seen in the A24 hit Hereditary and appeared in a recent episode of Law & Order: SVU.

Hello, Dolly! alum Taylor Trensch officially took his first bow as Evan Hansen February 6. The actor succeeded Noah Galvin in the role created by Tony winner Ben Platt.

Dear Evan Hansen features a score by the Tony- and Oscar-winning songwriting team of Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dogfight, A Christmas Story), a book by Tony winner Steven Levenson (Masters of Sex), choreography by Danny Mefford (Fun Home), and direction by multiple Tony nominee Michael Greif (Rent, Next to Normal, If/Then).


The Broadway company also features Alex Boniello, Rachel Bay Jones, Sky Lakota-Lynch, Jennifer Laura Thompson, Michael Park, and Phoenix Best.

Shop the Playbill Store for all
Dear Evan Hansen souvenirs and merchandise
Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!